Shamrocks Atom Reps capture MPS title, News, Rotary Club Atoms, 2018-2019 (Parry Sound Hockey Club)

Attention: You are viewing a team outside of the current season. Click here to view teams in the current season.
PrintNews Article
Click to view full-size image
Shamrocks Atom Reps capture MPS title
Submitted By psmh on Monday, January 7, 2019
The Parry Sound Shamrock Rotary Atom Rep team started the New Year off on the right foot bycapturing the Muskoka Parry Sound B Championship last weekend in Port Carling.

The weekend began with a nail biter against a strong Muskoka Rock team but the Shamrocks were
eventually able to pull out a tight 2-1 victory despite an outstanding performance by the Muskoka
goaltender. The line of Nathan Heimes, Timmy Hergaarden and Rowan Buckland provided the offensive
spark the Atoms needed to secure the win.
A tenacious and hard-working team from Almaguin provided the next challenge but Parry Sound started
strong led by a tremendous effort from the line of Riley Blower, Gavin Priaux and Miya Rochon who
were buzzing the net the entire game. Passing, forechecking and strong defense combined to give the
Shamrocks a convincing win against the Ice Devils and resulted in a shut out for Parry Sound.
The final round robin game featured a match up with a solid team from South Muskoka who battled
right to the final whilstle with the Shamrocks once again coming away with the victory. Baird Harley and
his wingers Trenton Devoe and Ben Kearns led the way with several goals and offensive opportunities.
The championship game featured a rematch with the Muskoka Rock and a complete effort from the
entire team led to a decisive win to capture this year’s MPS B title.
Throughout the weekend, the defensive foursome of Finn Gilbert, Trent Hodgson, Luke Nelson and
Skylar Penfold completely shut down any scoring opportunity by the other teams and when there was a
shot on net, goalie Jake Pennington closed the door and ended up recording three shutouts including
the championship game.
The team now heads to Peterborough to compete in the annual Liftlock tournament before beginning
the Ontario Minor Hockey Association (OMHA) playoffs.


Photo caption
Parry Sound Rotary Atom Rep members from left to right:
Back row standing: Assistant Coach Rob Blower, Manager Glen Hodgson, Trainer Mike Rochon, Assistant
Coach Kirt Nelson, Head Coach Terry Gilbert.
Players from left to right:
Baird Harley, Nathan Heimes, Skylar Penfold, Luke Nelson, Trenton Devoe, Finn Gilbert, Riley Blower,
Rowan Buckland, Timmy Hergaarden, Miya Rochon, Ben Kearns, Gavin Priaux, Trent Hodgson
Front row: goalie Jake Pennington
This article has been viewed 420 times.
View Another Team
Manage Subscriptions
Signup to receive email or text messages for the teams you want to follow.
Other Recent Articles
No other articles submitted
Printed from on Wednesday, April 1, 2020 at 11:51 PM